Recommended Reference Sources

Recommended sources for corporate, grants, individual and international fundraising.

Corporate Reference Sources

Accountancy Age: www.accountacyage.com
Top 50 accountancy firms

BoardEx: www.boardEx.com
Business networks

Business & Human Rights: www.business-humanrights.org

Business Rich Lists

Chambers & Partners: www.chambersandpartners.com
Guide to lawyers and law firms in the UK

City Watch: www.citywatch.co.uk
Tracing shareholders

Company Check: www.companycheck.co.uk
Free company accounts

Company Director Check: www.company-director-check.co.uk
Directorship information

Companies House: www.companies-house.gov.uk

Corporate Critic: www.corporatecritic.org

Corporate Register: www.corporateregister.com
CSR information

Corporate Watch: www.corporatewatch.org.uk
Research into social and environmental impact of corporations

DSC Company Giving: www.companygiving.org.uk

Duedil: www.duedil.com
Companies house information

Eiris: www.eiris.org
Environmental, social governance and ethical performance

Experteer: www.experteer.co.uk
Salary surveys

DigitalLook: www.digitallook.com
Financial information on leading  UK organisations

Directors Holdings www.directorsholdings.com
Shareholding transactions of directors

Dash: http://dash.bvdep.com
Company directors and shareholders UK

Dun & Bradstreet: www.dnb.com
Global commercial business information

Factiva: www.factiva.com
Business & financial news

Fame: https://fame2.bvdep.com
UK and Irish company information

Financial Services Authority FSA Register: www.fsa.gov.uk/register

Glassdoor: www.glassdoor.com
Companies and salaries

Hays: www.hays.co.uk/salary-guides.aspx
Salary surveys

Hedgeweek: www.hedgeweek.com
Hedge fund manager backgrounds and interviews

Hemscott: www.hemscott.com
Business and financial news on UK companies

Hoovers: www.hoovers.com/freeuk
UK companies

Kelly Search: www.kellysearch.co.uk
UK companies by product and location

Kompass: www.kompass.co.uk
Companies in over 70 countries by name, sector or region

Lawyer: www.thelawyer.com
Top 100 global law firms

Level Business: www.levelbusiness.com
Companies house information

Lexis Nexis: www.lexisnexis.co.uk
Media, press releases, transcripts, bulletins, magazines and journals

London Stock Exchange: www.londonstockexchange.com

Morningstar Company Intelligence: www.companyintelligence.morningstar.com

MINT: www.mintportal.bvdep.com

Northcote: www.northcote.co.uk
Search annual reports for quoted companies

Official Board: www.theofficialboard.com
Graphical representations of director networks

OneSource: www.onesource.com
Corporate database

Proactive Investors: www.proactiveinvestors.co.uk

UK Business Insider Magazine: www.insidermedia.com

Who Owns Who: www.whoownswho.org
Companies brand names which fall under which umbrella

Who Owns Scotland: www.whoownsscotland.org.uk

WealthMonitor: www.wealthmonitor.com
Strategic moves of private and public companies

Grants

Association of Charitable Foundations: www.acf.org.uk

Big Lottery Fund: www.biglotteryfund.org.uk

Chapel & York Grantmakers Online: www.grantmakersonline.com
international grantmakers by location

Charity Commission: www.charity-commission.gov.uk

Charity Comission of Northern Ireland: www.charitycommissionni.org.uk

Database of Scottish Charities: www.oscr.org.uk

Foundation Center USA: www.foundationcenter.org

Funding Central: www.fundingcentral.org.uk
UK Foundations

Grants Online: www.grantsonline.org.uk

GuideStar: www.guidestar.org.uk
non profit reports

j4bCommunity: www.j4bcommunity.co.uk
voluntary and community sector grants

JustCharity: www.justcharity.org
data on money raised online and a person search

New Charities Trust List: www.newcharities.org

New Grant Maker: www.new-grant-maker-alert.co.uk
UK’s new grant-making trusts

OpenCharities: www.opencharities.org

Trustfunding: www.trustfunding.org.uk

UK Fundraising: www.fundraising.co.uk
fundraising world news, sources and advice

Individuals

Archant Life Regional Rich Lists: www.archantlife.co.uk

Argus Vickers Equity Ownership: www.argus-vickers.co.uk/services/trial-request.aspx

Asian Who’s Who: www.asian-whoswho.com

Burke’s Peerage: www.burkespeerage.com

Business in the Community: www.bitc.org.uk

Celebrity Net Worth: www.celebritynetworth.com

Charity Commission Register of Removed Trustees:  www.charitycommission.gov.uk/trusteeregister/result.aspx?namepart=bor

City Hindu’s Network: www.cityhundusnetwork.org.uk

City Livery Companies: www.cityoflondon.gov.uk

City Women’s Club: www.citywomensclub.com

City & Guilds: www.cityandguilds.com/35486.html
Vocational rich list 2008

Civil Society Media: www.civilsociety.co.uk

Crockfords Clerical Directory: www.crockford.org.uk

Debrett’s Correct Form: www.debretts.com/forms-of-address.aspx
correct form of address for those with titles

Debrett’s People of Today: www.credoreference.com/

DOD’s Parliamentary Companion: www.dodonline.co.uk

E Financial News: www.efinancialnews.com

Evening Standard’s London’s Most Influential People: www.standard.co.uk/staticpage/influentials2012/

Factary ATOM: www.factary.com/what-we-do/atom-network-mapping/
Network mapping

Factary Phi: www.factary.com/Phi.html
UK donations

Factivia: www.searchremagnified.com
Financial markets

IMDB: www.imdb.com
Celebrity biographies

Insolvency Service: www.bis.gov.uk/insolvency/personal-insolvency/individual-insolvency-register

Law Society: www.lawsociety.org.uk

The Lawyer: www.thelawyer.com

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com
networking

LocateGB: www.locategb.com
electoral roll information

London Gazette: www.london-gazette.co.uk/search
search for old insolvencies

Look to the Stars: www.looktothestars.org
Celebrity philanthropy

Marketing File: www.marketingfile.com
Small lists of wealthy people

MM&K: www.mm-k.com
Executive remuneration

Mouseprice: www.mouseprice.com
House prices from Land Registry data

Net House Prices: www.nethouseprices.com

Office for National Statistics: Wealth in Great Britain Report: www.statistics.gov.uk/downloads

Our Property: www.ourproperty.co.uk
House prices from Land Registry data

Parliament UK: www.parliament.uk/mps-lords-and-offices

Peerage: www.thepeerage.com

Pipl: www.pipl.com
people search and profile information

Private Eye: www.private-eye.co.uk

ProQuest: www.proquest.co.uk
news

Prospect Visual: www.prospectvisual.com
Network mapping

Red Pages: www.theredpages.co.uk
celebrity & media

Register of Lords’ Interests: www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld/ldreg.htm

ResearchPlus: www.researchplus.co.uk
resources, advice, information

Roll on Friday: www.rollonfriday.com
legal news

Royal Mail: www.RoyalMail.co.uk

Salary Lists: www.ukrecruiter.co.uk/salary.htm or www.robertwalters.co.uk

Spotlight: www.spotlight.com
Database of performers

Sunday Times Rich List: www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/public/richlist/

Taxpayers’ Alliance: www.taxpayersalliance.com
town hall / public sector rich lists

Tracesmart: www.tracesmartcorporate.co.uk

UK Electoral Roll Online: www.theukelectoralroll.co.uk

Wealth Bulletin: www.wealth-bulletin.com
wealth management news

Wealth Watch: www.wealthwatch.co.uk
wealth news

White Pages: www.whitepages.com
people and businesses

Who’s Who: www.ukwhoswho.com

WhosWhoLegal: www.whoswholegal.com

World Who’s Who: www.worldwhoswho.com

ZoomInfo: www.zoominfo.com
business/occupational information

Zoopla: www.zoopla.co.uk

123 People: www.123people.co.uk
people search

192: www.192.com

Fundraising Associations & Governance

APRA: www.aprahome.org

Association of Chief Executives of Voluntary Organisations: www.acevo.org.uk

Association of Fundraising Professionals: www.afpnet.org

Charity Commission: www.charity-commission.gov.uk

Charity Technology Trust: www.cct.org

Community Interest Company Regulator: www.cicregulator.gov.uk

Council for the Advancement & Support of Education CASE: www.case.org

DirectGov Online link to all statutory bodies: www.directgov.gov.uk

Direct Marketing Association: www.dma.org.uk

Directory of Social Change: www.dsc.org.uk

Easy Fundraising: www.easyfundraising.org.uk

Fundraising Standards Board: www.frsb.org.uk

Fundraising UK: www.fundraising.co.uk

HM Revenue & Customs: www.hmrc.gov.uk

Information Commissioner's office (data protection): www.ico.gov.uk

Institute of Fundraising: www.institute-of-fundraising.org.uk

Institute for Philanthropy: www.instituteforphilanthropy.org.uk

Legacy Foresight: www.legacyforesight.co.uk

Matthew Iredale’s Fundraising Research: www.fundraisingresearch.info

National Council for Voluntary Organisations NCVO: www.ncvo-vol.org.uk

Office of the Third Sector: www.cabinetoffice.gov.uk/third_sector.aspx

Payroll Giving Centre: www.payrollgivingcentre.org.uk

Prospect Research UK PRUK Discussion Group: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/prospect-research-uk

PRSPCT-L international discussion group: http://listserv.apra-prspct-l.org/wa.exe?A0=PRSPCT-L

Public Fundraising Regulatory Association: www.pfra.org.uk

Researchers in Fundraising RIF: www.rif-uk.org

ShareGift: www.sharegift.org

Social Market Foundation: www.smf.co.uk

Social Enterprise Coalition: www.socialenterprise.org.uk

WikiFund: www.wikifund.info
IFC forum for good practice

Other Useful Websites

Aspire Research Group: www.aspireresearchgroup.com

Chris Carnie’s Bookmarks: www.delicious.com/chriscarnie

Chronicle of Philanthropy: www.philanthropy.com

City AM: www.cityam.com

David Lamb’s Prospect Reasearch site: www.lambresearch.com

Financial Times: www.ft.com

Find Articles: www.findarticles.com

Free Map Tools: www.freemaptools.com

Free Pint: www.freepint.com

GoogleGuide: www.googleguide.com

Google News Alerts: www.google.com/alerts

Helen Brown Group: www.helenbrowngroup.com
fundraising ratios and benchmarking

Houseprices: www.houseprices.co.uk
sale price of property and date

London Evening Standard: www.thisislondon.com

Metro: www.metro.co.uk

Mouseprice: www.mouseprice.com
house prices

Newspaper Society: www.newspapersoc.org.uk
regional press

NP Engage: www.npengage.com

Prospect Research Toolkit: www.fundraisingresearch.info

Philanthropy UK www.philanthropyuk.org
3 monthly newsletter, philanthropists

Sabine Schuller’s List of International Donor Research Resources: www.diigo.com/list/sschiller/international-donor-research-resources

Supporting Advancement: www.supportingadvancement.com/research/research.htm

The Factary: www.factary.com

Think Resource: www.thinkresource.org

Third Sector: www.thirdsector.co.uk

WealthWatch: www.wealthwatch.org.uk
UK millionaires

WRX: www.wrx.zen.co.uk
British newspapers publishing online news and information (more than 800 local)

Zoopla: www.zoopla.co.uk
house prices 

Partners

Action Planning: www.actionplanning.co.uk

Advice2Go: www.advice2go.co.uk

Arts Quarter: www.artsquarter.co.uk

Charity Technology Trust: www.ctt.org

CCR Data: www.ccr.co.uk

WealthWatch: www.wealthwatch.co.uk

Books

Birkholz, J. (2008) ‘Fundraising Analytics: Using Data to Guide Strategy’, John Wiley & Sons.

Brett, M. (2003) ‘How to Read the Financial Pages’, Random House.

Carnie, C. (2000) ‘How to Guide: Find the Funds, A New Approach to fundraising research’, Directory of Social Change, London.

Ciconta, B, J & L. (2009) ‘Fundraising Basics: A Complete Guide’, Jones & Bartlett

Clay, A. (2011) ‘Trust Fundraising’, Director of Social Change.

Denis, F. (2007) ‘How to Get Rich’, Ebury Press.

Hack, V. (1997) ‘Targeting the Powerful: International Prospect Research’, Aslib, London.

Holman, M & Sargent, L. (2006) ‘Major Donor Fundraising’, Directory of Social Change, London.

Harts, T et al. (2006) ‘Major Donors: Finding Big Gifts in Your Database and Online’, John Wiley & Sons, New Jersey.

Hayden, T. (2006) ‘Capital Campaigns’, Directory of Social Change, London.

Hock, R. (2010) ‘The Extreme Searcher’s Internet Handbook’, Cyberage Books.

Hogan, C. (2007) ‘Prospect Research: A Primer for Growing Non-Profits’, Jones and Bartlett Publishers.

Hudson, M. (2009) ‘Prospect Research Fundamentals’, Stevenson Inc.

Jones, R & Funnell, R (2011) ‘Prospect Research’, SPM Fundessentials, London

Lloyd, T. (2004) ‘Why Rich People Give’, ACF.

Lloyd, T. (2006) ‘Cultural Giving’, Director of Social Change.

Pedley, P. (2003) ‘Practical Guide to Negotiating Licenses for Electronic Products’, Free Pint Ltd.

Prince, R.A & Schiff, L. (2008) ‘The Middle-Class Millionaire’, Doubleday.

Rice, A. (2011) ‘Accounts Demystified: The Astonishingly Simple Guide to Accounting’, Prentice Hall.

Solla, L. (2009) ‘The Guide to Prospect Research & Prospect Management’.

Stanley, T & Danko, W. (1996) ‘The Millionaire Next Door’, Pocket Books.

Stoakes, C. (2011) ‘All You Need to Know About the City’, Longtail Publishing.

Strand, B. (2008) ‘A Kaleidoscope of Prospect Development’, CASE.

Wylie, P. (2004) ‘Data Mining for Fund Raisers: How to Use Simple Statistics to Find Gold in Your Donor Database – Even if You Hate Statistics’, CASE.

Wylie, P. (2008) ‘Baseball, Fundraising, and the 80/20 Rule: Studies in Data Mining’, CASE.

Publications

Charities Aid Foundation / DSC - Directory of Grant Making Trusts

City of London Directory & Livery Companies Guide

DSC - Dimensions of the Voluntary Sector

DSC - Guide to Company Giving

DSC - Guide to Major Trusts

DSC - Major Companies Guide

Hay’s Salary Survey

Hollis Sponsorship and Donations Yearbook

Macmillan’s Unquoted Companies

National Gardens Scheme Yellow Book

Price Waterhouse Corporate Register – plc directors

Sunday Times Rich List 2005-2006 Wealth Register book version has 5000 names over £5,000,000

Sutters International Who’s Who

Who’s Who in the City

Local Libraries – what sources can you access free through them, also lawyers/city libraries. All Quality Press.

International

Asia

Eastern Eye: www.easterneye.eu

 

Australia

www.brw.com.au/lists/rich/rich_200_2012 (Business Review Weekly Australia Rich List)

www.maynereport.com/articles/2007/07/17-2225-719.html (Mayne Report Australia Rich List)

Australian Financial Review: www.AFR.com Australian business

Giftsearch from FR&C Australia: www.fundraisingresearch.com.au/giftsearch_14.html

online database of public domain donations to Australian not for profits

 

China

Hurun China Rich List http://www.hurun.net/usen/HRRL.aspx

Hurun Chinese Philanthropy List 2012 http://www.hurun.net/usen/NewsShow.aspx?nid=215

Mainland China House Price Comparison website http://map.house.sina.com.cn

 

Europe

European Foundation Centre: www.efc.be

Funders Online: www.fundersonline.org European foundations

 

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Who's Who http://webb-site.com/dbpub/

Hong Kong Tatler '500 List' - Annual List showcasing the top 500 members of the territory’s Power Elite
http://hk.asiatatler.com/500list

Hong Kong Charity Search - List of charitable institutions which are exempt from tax in Hong Kong (provided by Inland Revenue) http://www.ird.gov.hk/eng/tax/ach_index.htm

Hong Kong Property Valuation Tool -http://www.hsbc.com.hk/1/2/hk/mortgages/valuation/value-search

 

India

The Economic Times - Company information, analysis and stock market quotes economictimes.indiatimes.com/

Bain & Co India Philanthropy Report 2012 www.bain.com/publications/articles/india-philanthropy-report-2012.aspx

India House Price Comparison website www.MagicBricks.com

 

Middle East

power500.arabianbusiness.com/lists (Arabian Business Lists / Rich Lists)

www.swfinstitute.org/fund-rankings (Sovereign Wealth Fund Institute)

www.cy8cy.com/the-wall-street-journals-southeast-asia-power-list (South-East Asia Power List)

 

Saudi Arabia

Datarabia: www.datarabia.com Saudi Arabian business

 

Singapore

www.singaporeexpats.com (Singapore Property Listings)

 

United States

www.blockshopper.com (real-estate information for major US cities, including names of sellers/buyers and transaction values)

New York Social Diary: www.newyorksocialdiary.com

Noza: www.nozasearch.com charitable donations USA and Canada

People Search: www.peoplesearch.net US people finder

Worth: www.worth.com USA wealth

Foundation Center: fdncenter.org

 

General

Beth Bandy: www.bethbandy.com

Biography: www.biography.com
250,000 prominent individuals around the world

Carol World: www.carolworld.com
european and US company annual reports

Forbes Billionaires: www.forbes.com/billionaires

HM Treasury Financial Sanctions: www.hm-treasury.gov.uk/fin_sanctions_index.htm
Asset freeze targets by UN, EU and UK.

Infobel: www.infobel.com/en/world
International phone directory

International Company Registers: www.companieshouse.gov.uk/links/introduction.shtml#req

International Who’s Who: www.internationalwhoswho.com and www.whoswho-sutter.com

Million Dollar List: www.milliondollarlist.org
60,000 $1m gifts

OCRA: www.ocra.com/jurisdictions/index.asp
summary of international filing stipulations

Office of Foreign Assets Control OFAC US: www.treasury.gov/resource-center/sanctions/SDN-list/pages/default.aspx
Specially designated nationals

Online Newspapers: www.onlinenewspapers.com
International newspapers

Orbis: https://orbis.bvdinfo.com
International company information

RBA: www.rba.co.uk/souces/registers.htm
International company registers

The Big Project: www.thebigproject.co.uk
National and international newspapers in English

WealthNet:  www.thewealthnet.com
Global wealth management

Who Knows Who: www.whoknowswho.channel4.com

Who’s Who Legal: www.whoswholegal.com

Sign up for our newsletter and other marketing communications.

Please add 
email@news-prospectingforgold.co.uk 
to your safe senders list.

Email
First Name
Last Name
Job Title
Organisation